Learn

Seaview

One of the lessons I’ve learned on traveling is you do not only go to places just to see the sight and take pictures.  As much as you are immersed in a new place, take time to know and learn the local people because what is place without its people?  Bohol is not much different.  The way it is been promoted today is totally wrong.  Yes, it surely does draw quite a crowd but a lot of people are missing too much if they haven’t known the Boholano.

I’ve been to places I’ve never expected to be.  These are places that I read on a Sibika at Kultura books when I was in elementary.  I was fascinated about the sites but what fascinated me most were the local people on the area.  They are the ones who taught me much on how to speak “po” or “opo”.  I’ve acquired their taste for spicy foods and I’ve seen also their areas of strengths and weaknesses.  I have learned so much that the experience changed me before I came to the place.

A couple of co-workers just told me that early January both of them went to Bohol and it was quite a shock when I’ve learned on how much they’ve paid for the whole package.  If they have told me they were going beforehand I would have contact some friends and they might cut their expenses in half plus they would not have been hassled with all the transfer of transportation.

Seaview


If you’ve been to Bohol I’m quite sure these are the usual spots you go to:  Panglao, Hinagdanan Cave, Sandugo Shrine, Baclayon Church, Prony the Python, Loboc River, Man-made Forest and the Chocolate Hills.  If you have extra days you can surely visit Danao for some extreme adventure.  These are must-see spots and I would recommend that you go see them on first visit.  But on a follow-up visit try do some researching and inquiring of some local Boholanos.  They might just point you to places that have not yet been commercialized or touched.

Kanlungon


We don’t usually go to resorts and the like when we want a little get away.  We go to our usual favorite beach spot which is quite hidden from tourists but is quite well known among the people on the locality.  We permanently relocated to Bohol on 2000 that means I’m just barely a decade and a year living on the island.  I brought some college friends to our family spot and they were amazed how come they haven’t known this spot for living in Bohol almost their entire lives.

When I tour friend and relatives, I don’t bring them to the expensive resorts (sure, we drive up to some of them just to see the place), I bring them to I know what’s best.

One comment

  1. I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing? I’m having some small security issues with my latest blog
    and I would like to find something more safe.
    Do you have any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

